The Long Journey

Sitting in an airport…waiting for time to pass…..that time can be the slowest yet at the same time the fastest.

I was able to not die of boredom during the 12 hour airport wait.

I would set goals for myself to make the time go faster. I would pick an activity, reading, sewing, watching a movie and would make myself sit there doing that activity for how ever long I decided. Then I would get up, and move somewhere else.

image

I was somewhat limited dragging my luggage around. Every time I moved, the duffle bag wheels would screach and I would feel and see people looking at me. My arms would ache dragging that awkward thing. They still do. Yet even so, I managed.

I was filled with anxiety, worried that somehow they wouldn’t find my ticket when the agent looked up my passport. It was all I could do to not think about it.

Everytime I would remember, I would say to myself “all things work together for good…..God works all things together for good”.

When the time came close for them to open up the check-in, I planted myself in front of the line and sat on my duffle.

A man from New York came and we waited together. It was nice to have a conversation in English.

When the check-in opened, the man from New York carried my duffle bag up for me. Grunting he commented on how heavy it was. Yeah…I know.

In spite of my anxiety, that made my stomache churn and my adrenaline race, everything went smoothly. They checked my bag through to Asia and it was under the limit!! 🙂

Things started getting better from there…every where I turned I saw the hands of God’s goodness.

Like when seeing people from where I was headed and they spoke English!

Getting Starbucks 🙂

image

Helping a man find where his check-in gate was.

Having the check-in gal be super nice to me. She even weighed my carry-on….it was super over…..and she LET ME TAKE IT ON!!!!!! 🙂

image

Being able to change clothes…thanks to the super nice lady letting me have my roller board.

Arriving at the airport where I would have an almost 20 hr layover to find that I would get a free hotel room!

And that hotel has wifi!!! (its the simple things…it really is 🙂

Being able to take a shower.

Getting to taste authentic Asian food again…..sigh…

God is good isn’t he? 🙂

As for me…I am going to sleep well tonight!

One thought on “The Long Journey

Leave a Reply

