School House Tunic

These past couple weeks, I have been working a lot and been sewing up a storm! I am so thankful for my sewing machine can put up with me.

A couple years ago I replaced my Pfaff with a Bernina and my Bernina puts up with my “abuse” a lot better.

One thing it does for me is it continues to keep working when I forget to change the quarter inch foot to an open foot when I am doing a zig zag. I haven’t forgotten very often but when I do….bam there goes a needle.

Worst feeling in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But after changing the needle and taking a break to stop and clean out the bobbin case and of course add a couple drops of oil, it keeps running like new.

One of my finishes that I got done was this School House tunic by Sew Liberated.

School House Tunic

*Photo credit goes to my lovely sister Hannah…to see more of her work head over here.

I had bought the pattern at a quilt shop in Nebraska last fall and I finally found the perfect fabric for it.

I decided to go with a Hoffman batik. I haven’t made clothes in a long time and I had never tried making a dress out of a batik before. But I love the look! You definitely won’t see other people wearing batiks.

One thing I was worried about when making this dress/tunic was the fact that I have rather broad shoulders for my frame. The thing I liked about this pattern is that the pattern writer combined the sizes, because I had one of those problems where you are in one size in the bust but in a different size in the hips and the waist. What a dilemma! This pattern takes that problem out for you and just combines the sizes.

The first day of wearing the garment I did find that the shoulders were a little tight but after the second day the shoulders weren’t that bad at all. Go figure. (it probably has to do with the fact that batiks have a tad bit of stretch to them.)

Also I had a birthday! The day was busy filled with church, a quiz meet and then finally crashing at home to watch the Amazing race.

IMG_20140302_171737My littlest bro decided it was his job to guard my presents. He did a good job too!

IMG_20140302_214104Here are a sampling of some of my favorites!!!!!

I haven’t had too much time to look at them but they make me so happy to look at all the pictures! Thanks Mom!

Linking up today with

One thought on “School House Tunic

Leave a Reply

