Marathon Training….Week One

Today I started my first week of marathon training…….on a treadmill.

I had expected to be able to run outside…..but when I checked the temps this morning….it was -18 degrees outside. Nope…..not gonna happen.

Needless to say I wasn’t very excited to have to run inside, but I am so glad that we have a treadmill especially this cold cold winter otherwise training and maintaining would have been non existent!

My first week of training started with an 8 mile run. The farthest I have ever run on a treadmill. I was wondering how I was going to stand it. Last week when I ran 6 miles on the treadmill I thought I was going to faint. A feeling I never have when running outside but for some reason a treadmill makes me feel disoriented when I get off and my legs feel like jelly.

Here is how I was able to endure 8 miles on a treadmill.

  1.  Keep water by the treadmill
  2.  Kleenex is also essential. You will need this to wipe your face.
  3. Make sure you have music
  4. And movies (you will need variety)
  5. Pandora is also nice.
  6. Mix it up….and get off the treadmill and take mini 5 second breaks. Trust me it helps a ton!
  7. Set goals…..playing mind games with yourself works wonders. If you convince yourself that mile 5 is practically done…..and 6 you can almost call yourself finished because 2 miles really isn’t that far…..you can sprint that! Believe me that is the best part!
  8. Don’t give up….and you will feel so accomplished!

The first week of marathon training is usually pretty easy…..but it builds pretty fast….thankfully I always follow the same form of training plan no matter whether I am in training or not so that when I do start training all that involves is bumping up mileage in different places. My favorite running book is Running for Women by Claire Kowalchik. A running friend gave me one as a surprise when she heard that I was going to run my first marathon. It has been a life saver and I keep going back to it for running advice and training plans. I will use it again this training season.

Why fix something if it isn’t broken?

Happy running and make sure you replace those calories! (preaching to the choir here!)

Leave a Reply

