Time of Year

Its that time of year again!

Yep…..marathon training! Yeah I know its still cold out and the entire country is still either being dumped on or being frozen by the arctic chill but for those who like to run spring marathons, training starts now. Yes, now in the frigid cold.

On Sunday I will officially start bumping up my training and start extending my long runs and my speed runs. I am really hoping that the temperature average gets to be above zero soon, because I dread running long runs on the treadmill. Its boring, my fingers tingle and I feel like I will faint after too long on that thing. Running on a treadmills has its perks though. I can get on it whenever I want and its always warm in my house unlike the outdoors and hey! I can’t watch a movie if I run outside! Yet running on a treadmill is nothing like running outside with the wind and the sun and yes, the cold.

I am planning on running the Lincoln Marathon in May, and to help in training for that, a half marathon in March. It has been two years since I have run a race and I am a little nervous because I haven’t figured out my food balance yet. Getting it so my intake is enough to compensate for what I am burning it rather hard especially when I run my long runs once a week. But hey getting to eat more is never bad! That is one of things that I love about running, I get to burn so many calories and eat so much more!

I got to run outside today and it was heavenly, despite the cold and the wind. I have learned that even though I maybe cold in the beginning of my run I should just keep running. I usually warm up after a mile or so. So I ran, having fun on our icy country roads, dodging the snowplow and looking forward to Sunday when I get to start marathon training!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Time of Year

    • Jess says:

      Go for it! 🙂 Just make sure you work up to it slowly. 🙂 Halves are my favorite because you don’t normally hit a wall. 🙂

Leave a Reply

